Here's how all the
fun and games started: I thought the disposal was actually for disposing of
things. Turns out, it's not really a good idea. At least not edamame (that's
soy beans in case you are wondering).
Geesh. I think the disposal is an evil appliance and perhaps the only
thing I should put in it is water. So first the disposal clogs up then the sink
drain starts to back up then the dishwasher gets in on the action and fills up
with all the overflowing water.
Closing my eyes and
wishing really, really hard for it to magically drain didn't work and, I was
left with only two options: call a someone to fix it for me or do it
myself. Grrr. Most every one I know is
working (go figure) except for the actual plumbers who want to be paid to fix
these problems. So, in light of my current
frugalness, I went and put on my big
girl panties and asked Google for assistance.
After typing "How do I unclog my disposal?" into the search field I was quickly rewarded with 80,800 result in .28 seconds. Well, alrighty then. First I need a plunger and then I need some Liquid Plumber (much cheaper than the human plumber I'm guessing). Thankfully I not only have both of those I actually find them rather quickly!
After typing "How do I unclog my disposal?" into the search field I was quickly rewarded with 80,800 result in .28 seconds. Well, alrighty then. First I need a plunger and then I need some Liquid Plumber (much cheaper than the human plumber I'm guessing). Thankfully I not only have both of those I actually find them rather quickly!
Step 1: try running
the disposal a few extra times to see if that would unclog it. Nope. But the
fountain that shot up outta the sink was pretty cool. Grrr. Moving on the step
2: plunging. Oh, that was a barrel of fun. Plunge one side and water shoots out
the other side. I'm now soaking wet, the floor is soaking wet, but the sink is draining ever so
slooooooooowly. Step 3: pour in Liquid Plumber and wait. So, now I wait. And
contemplate the usefulness of a piece of equipment that can't even chew up a
few soy beans. Really?? Maybe I'll go take a shower and hope that drain doesn't
clog up too!
This comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteYou see those pipes right there with the plastic nuts on them? Yeah, your clog is most likely right there.
ReplyDelete1) Get a bucket to catch water and excess nasty
2) Place it under the pipes
3) losen the nuts and lower the pipes - careful as there is WATER and nastiness in there
4) clean out the pipes with whatever you can cram in there - a generous amount of paper towel on your finger should be fine.
5) You might (probably) will have to do the same thing with the pipe from the disposal to the drain.
6) and most importantly - since you've dumped a caustic substance into the mix, protect your eyes and wash thoroughly after you're done.
7) Next time, run plenty of water while you are grinding up crap in there...and never put potato peals in it.
Lol. Thanks for your help and I'll try to remember only to put water in there in the future! :)
DeleteThere really isn’t a need to disassemble your disposal and sink, or even use a plunge just to unclog these. Try this solution that works well with both: vinegar, baking soda, and boiling water. ^-^ It has worked well for me many times; and the best part is that it is cheap, and you can find these three ingredients in your very kitchen.
ReplyDeleteAlthea Tumlin